1st-time corporator Bhoyar set to head standing panel | Nagpur News - Times of India - Expert News

1st-time corporator Bhoyar set to head standing panel | Nagpur News – Times of India

Nagpur: First-time BJP corporator Prakash Bhoyar, a close aide of former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, is all set to become the chairman of Nagpur Municipal Corporation’s standing committee. Bhoyar was among the seven new corporators who were elected to the standing committee at a special general body meeting held virtually on Monday.
The BJP has begun preparations to woo voters for next year’s civic elections. Bhoyar’s nomination seems like an effort to please voters of the Kunbhi community.
On February 19, city BJP chief Pravin Datke appointed senior party corporator and former standing committee chairman Avinash Thakre as ruling party leader in the civic body. Thakre, who hails from the Mali community, is a well-known face in the city’s OBC community.
Earlier this year, the BJP pleased Brahmin voters by appointing Dayashankar Tiwari as city mayor while making first-time corporator Manisha Dhawde, who hails from the Teli community, deputy mayor. The four coveted posts are likely to work to BJP’s advantage in next year’s elections, said analysts.
The standing committee has 16 members. Parties can nominate members in proportion to the number of corporators in the 151-member house.
The term of BJP corporators Pradip Pohane, Yasheshri Nadanwar, Vikram Gwalbanshi, Vandana Bhagat and Sanjay Chawre has ended. So is the case with Congress corporators Gargi Chopra and Dinesh Yadav and BSP’s Ibrahim Ahmed.
Ruling party leader Thakre submitted a list of BJP corporators for nomination to the committee to mayor Dayashankar Tiwari, who gave his approval. BJP corporators Prakash Bhoyar, Sanjay Balpande, Sushma Chowdhary, Pragati Patil and Bharti Bunde were nominated to the committee. Leader of opposition Tanaji Wanve submitted names of Congress corporators Neha Nikose and Manoj Gawande for nomination to the committee to the mayor, who gave the nod. BSP’s corporator Narendra Walde was also nominated to the committee.
The party has also announced the names of eight more BJP corporators, including Sumedha Deshpande, Varsha Thakre, Vanita Dandekar, Swati Akhatkar, Rupali Thakur, Jaishree Rarokar and Vandana Bhure to replace the party’s corporators in the standing panel next month.
The new chairman and members of the other 10 sub committees were also nominated at the special meeting. Though BJP replaced chairmen of eight committees, it repeated Mahendra Dhanvijay and Dilip Diwe as chairmen of tax and education panels. Diwe is heading the education panel since he was elected in the last civic elections in 2017.
Thakre appointed ruling party leader
City BJP president Pravin Datke has appointed senior BJP corporator Avinash Thakre as ruling party leader in the Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC). Thakre will replace former deputy mayor Sandip Jadhav.
Senior BJP corporator Jadhav claimed that he resigned from the post of ruling party leader to give a chance to other senior corporators. “There are no personal reasons for resigning from the post or any pressure from seniors within the party,” he said and expressed gratitude to the party for giving him three important posts (deputy mayor, standing committee chairman and ruling party leader) since he was first elected as corporator in 2012. Thakre said his focus will be on better coordination between the elected representatives with the civic administration. “My job is more important keeping in mind the civic body elections which are due in early 2022,” said Thakre.
Education committee—Dilip Dive
Tax consultative—Mahendra Dhanvijay
Estate—Rajendra Sonkusre
Water—Sandip Gavai
Legal—Minakshi Telgote
Sports—Pramod Tabhane
Women & child welfare—Divya Dhurde
Fire & electric—Deepak Chowdhary
Economic weaker section—Kanta Rarokar
Health—Sanjay Mahajan
Slum eradication—Harish Dikondwar

Source link

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: